暫緩執行驅逐租戶法常見問題

 

屋崙的暫緩執行驅逐租戶法是甚麽一回事?

屋崙暫緩執行法是加州當前少數真正的暫緩執行驅逐租戶法之一。 這是本法要執行事項的概述:

1) 本法保護屋崙租戶於屋崙市緊急狀態期間幾乎不會基於任何原因而受到驅逐。

2) 即使緊急狀態結束以後,本法仍保護因新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)危機受財務衝擊以致於緊急時期未能支付租金的屋崙租戶不致被驅逐。 本法同時禁止收取因欠租引起之過期罰金。

3) 本法於緊急狀態期間對某些加租設限。

4) 本法同時保護因新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)危機財務受衝擊的小商業和非牟利機構不致因未能支付租金而遭到驅逐。

 

屋崙的暫緩執行法適用於何人?

本暫緩執行法適用於屋崙市所有租戶當中受到屋崙「公正緣由驅逐租戶法」涵蓋的人士。這意味涵蓋绝大部分租戶,除非以下任何一種情況適用於你:

  • 你居住的樓房興建於1996年或之後
  • 你和房東居住於同一個單位之内(你們共用浴厠間或廚房)
  • 你居住於一處健康設施、非牟利濫用物質治療設施,或某些給無家可歸者入住的短期住屋

 

如果我居住於一棟單戶住宅,那麽,暫緩執行法是否適用於我?

只要以上列出的任何一種情況都不適用於你,那麽,暫緩執行法涵蓋你。舉例子:如果你居住於一棟單戶住宅 ,而且你的房東同時也居住同一個單位之内,那麽,暫緩執行法不適用於你的租住 單戶住宅並沒有特殊例外。

 

暫緩執行驅逐租戶法怎樣實施?

1)    禁止幾乎所有驅逐

暫緩執行驅逐租戶法表明:如果你的房東於緊急狀態期間給你發驅逐通知,該通知法律上是無效的。如果你的房東於緊急狀態以前給你發了通知,而且通知尚未過期(例如:該通知期限是60天,但那60天尚未過期),該通知法律上同樣無效。如果你的房東於緊急狀態期間對你提起驅逐訴訟,那是同樣無效的。

不管是以上任何一種情況,如果你的房東那時對你提起驅逐訴訟,你仍須採取步驟及時就訴訟提交答辯狀。如果你這樣做,那麽,你可以輕易贏得訴訟,而無須出示證據或是觸及該宗訴訟的事實。理想情況下,你的房東是不會提起他們贏不了的訴訟的。

2)    保護不致因未付租金於未來遭到驅逐

本法同時保護未來不致因未支付租金而出現許多驅逐行動。如果你於緊急狀態期間無法支付租金,並且是因為新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)所造成,或是因為新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)引發某些情況所造成,那麽,你會得到保護,不致因未有交租而於未來遭到驅逐。你也受到保護,無須支付任何遲交費。

在屋崙,法律並不要求你現在就通知房東你受到新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)的衝擊,或是給他們提供證據,然後才能藉此取得那些保護。然而,建議你考慮就你的支付租金發某種通知給你的房東。 你亦應該收集及保留你因新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)危機財務遭受衝擊的證據,以便如果你的房東稍後真的試圖驅逐你,你可於法庭出示該證據。如果那時你證明因為新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)令你無法支付租金,那麽,你將會贏得該驅逐訴訟。你往後將仍舊欠租,但是你不致因未能支付租金而遭到驅逐,就算是緊急時期結束之後。

 

為甚麽本法例不制止房東提起驅逐訴訟?

根據州法,如果你的房東對你提起驅逐訴訟,就算該訴訟並無法律上有效的理由,你仍須提交答辯狀以便保障你的權益。很可惜,沒有個別的城市能夠通過立法來制止房東的驅逐訴訟行爲。(州長可以那樣做,但是他未有做)

 

暫緩執行驅逐租戶法會持續多久?

本禁令幾乎全面禁止所有驅逐,禁令將持續有效至屋崙市的緊急狀態結束為止。禁令追溯至3月9日,並且目前訂於5月31日結束。之後必須市議會通過始能續期。

與未支付租金相關的保護租戶未來規定是不設期限的。如果你未能支付緊急狀態期間累積的租金,而且是因為新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)所造成,那麽,你的房東永遠不可以因你未付租金而合法驅逐你。你將仍舊欠租,但是你不會因此喪失家園。

 

暫緩執行法涵蓋甚麽類型的租戶驅逐?

如果房東因為以下這些原因正在驅逐你,那麽,本全面性暫緩執行法便適用於你:

  • 欠交租金
  • 違反租約(不遵守租賃合約條款)
  • 拒絕簽署條文實質相似的新租約
  • 對樓宇處所造成重大損害
  • 干擾寧靜享用權
  • 如果法律有此要求,仍拒絕房東訪問該單位
  • 屋主收回自住
  • 因進行重大維修而驅逐租戶

本全面性的暫緩執行法只允許兩種例外情況:

1)    如果房東依據埃利斯法(Ellis Act :將整個房產移離租賃市場10年)驅逐你;或者

2)    驅逐原因在於租戶對其他住戶構成逼在眉睫的健康或安全風險。

本法同時對將來因欠交租金而起的驅逐案提供額外保護。

 

我現在無法支付租金暫緩執行法於我有何作用?

暫緩執行法通過兩種方式保護你。 首先,你的房東現在幾乎不能基於任何原因合法給你發驅逐通知-這包括欠交租金在内。其次,就算緊急狀態結束以後,你的房東可以因你於緊急期間欠交累積的租金而試圖驅逐你,但是,如果你能夠展示你所以欠交的原因在於新型冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)危機的話,你可以贏得該訴訟。

你的房東可以通過其他法庭控告你欠租—例如:於小額錢債案法庭。然而,你不會失去你的住房。

你是否現在交租是你私人問題,視乎你和你家庭有那些選擇和用得到的資源。如果你還有一些收入的話,建議你考慮請求房東,看你能否於危機期間支付較低金額的租金。

 

我有必要用怎麽樣的證明,來顯示我所以付不出租金,原因在於新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)?

本法建議某些類型的證明,但並未限制你只能用那些選項。你可以用工資單、一封來自你現在或你前僱主的信函、你孩子學校給你的信,或是醫療紀錄。如果這些都不是你可用的選擇,你可以請朋友或工友於法庭為你作證。

 

本法對加租有何規定?

本法對受租金管制單位的住戶的加租訂立了限制。如果你的租住受屋崙租金管制法例涵蓋,那麽,在緊急時期,你的房東不可以加你租金超過屋崙市年度「消費者物價指數」(CPI)升幅的水平。目前,該數額是3.5%。 唯一例外是如果你的房東向屋崙租管局提交呈請謀求「公平回報」。

按理,房東有可能加你高於那個數額的租金-好像是存儲先前可加租金或資本改善工程 。本暫緩執行法不允許那些類型的加租。

 

我們可以怎樣為所有人限制加租?

廢除科斯達-霍金斯(Costa-Hawkins)租賃房屋法

 

紐森州長是否通過了一項加州的暫緩執行驅逐租戶法?

紐森州長沒有頒佈一項暫緩執行驅逐租戶令。於3月27日,他頒佈了一項有關驅逐租戶的指令, 我們認為對租戶非常無益。他的指令改變了一些驅逐租戶案的某些法庭程序性指引,如果租戶現在就採取確認步驟,並提供信息給他們的房東的話。該指令並未延長任何租戶支付租金的時限或是讓他們有更大機會贏得驅逐租戶案訴訟。

我們認為該指令功能上毫無作用,並且肯定不是一項暫緩執行令。

 

甚麽是「保護屋崙租客」?

「保護屋崙租客」(Protect Oakland Renters) 是一個社區組織群體,我們提倡、從事組織並遊説通過屋崙的暫緩執行法。這個群體包括:加州人爭取社區賦權聯盟(ACCE)、公正緣由、人民法律中心、亞太環保網絡(APEN)、屋崙租戶聯盟、東灣社區法律中心,以及東灣房屋組織(EBHO)。

 

有那些市官員支持屋崙暫緩執行驅逐租戶法?

屋崙暫緩執行驅逐租戶法的撰寫人是市議員勵琪(Nikki Fortunato Bas) 和共同

撰寫人市議員卡爾布(Dan Kalb) 及屋崙市府律師帕克 (Barbara Parker) 。法案經市議會全票一致通過。

 

如果我的房東仍在試圖驅逐我,我可以在屋崙聯絡甚麽人尋求幫助?

法律幫助:

人民法律中心 (Centro Legal de la Raza) – (510) 437-1554

東灣社區法律中心 (East Bay Community Law Center) – (510) 548-4040, ext. 629

驅逐辯護中心 (Eviction Defense Center) – (510) 452-4541

灣區法律援助 (Bay Area Legal Aid) – (510) 250-5257

長者法律援助 (Legal Assistance for Seniors) – (510) 832-3040

亞太島嶼裔法律外展 (Asian Pacific Islander Legal Outreach) – (510) 251-2846

法律以外的租戶援助:

公正緣由(Causa Justa Just Cause) – 租戶熱線:(510) TENANTS (836-2687) (以英語及西班牙語為租戶提供一般性建議); (510) 763-5877 (主機號碼、租戶組織工作)

加州人爭取社區賦權聯盟(Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment) – (510) 269-4692 (租戶組織工作)

屋崙組織聯盟(Oakland Tenants Union)- (510) 704-5276 (租戶輔導)

在微信添加亚太环保网络(APEN)为朋友的3种方法:

(1) 截取本QR 二维码图。在微信App中单击右上角带“+”号的圆形,再单击“扫一扫”。接着单击右下角的“相簿”图形,然后上载你的QR 二维码截图。

(2) 使用我们的微信号“APEN4EJ” 于微信搜索亚太环保网络(APEN)

(3) 使用我们的电话号(510) 384-8554于微信查找亚太环保网络(APEN )

Hide×

What is the Oakland Evictions Moratorium?

The Oakland Moratorium is currently the only real moratorium on evictions in the state of California. Here’s an overview of what it does:

1) It protects Oakland tenants from being evicted during the Oakland State of Emergency for nearly every reason.

2) Even after the State of Emergency ends, it protects Oakland tenants financially impacted by the COVID-19 crisis from being evicted because they were unable to pay rent during the emergency period. It also prohibits charging late fees associated with the back rent.

3) It limits certain rent increases during the State of Emergency.

4) It also protects small businesses and nonprofits who were financially impacted by the COVID-19 crisis against being evicted for failure to pay rent.

Who Does the Oakland Moratorium Apply To?

The moratorium applies to all tenants in the City of Oakland who are covered by Oakland’s Just Cause for Eviction Ordinance. This mean all tenants, unless one of the following applies to you:

  • The building you live in was constructed in 1996 or later
  • You live in the same unit as your landlord (you share a bathroom or kitchen)
  • You live in a health facility, nonprofit substance abuse treatment facility, or certain short-term housing for homeless people

If I Live in a Single Family Home, Does the Moratorium Apply to Me?

As long as you do not fall into one of the exceptions above, the moratorium covers you. For example, if you live in a single family home and your landlord lives there too then the moratorium does not apply to your tenancy. There is no special exception for single family homes.

How Does the Evictions Moratorium Work?

1) A Ban on Almost All Evictions

The evictions moratorium says that if your landlord gives you an eviction notice during the State of Emergency, that notice is legally invalid. If your landlord gave you an eviction notice prior to the State of Emergency that had not yet expired (for example, the notice was for 60 days, but the 60 days had not run out yet), that notice is also legally invalid. If your landlord filed an eviction lawsuit against you during the emergency period, it is also invalid.

In any of the above cases, if your landlord then files an eviction lawsuit against you, you still need to take steps to respond to the lawsuit in time. If you do, you can easily win the lawsuit without having to produce evidence or get into facts of the case. Ideally your landlord will not file a lawsuit they can’t win.

2) Protection Against Future Evictions for Nonpayment of Rent

The law also protects against many future evictions for nonpayment of rent. If you are unable to pay rent during the State of Emergency, and it is because of COVID-19 or some situation caused by COVID-19, you are protected from being evicted in the future for failure to pay that rent. You are protected from any late fees, as well.

In Oakland, in order to access those protections, you are not legally required to notify your landlord that you are impacted by COVID-19 or provide them with proof right now. However, you may wish to send some kind of notification to your landlord about your rent payments. You should also collect and keep proof that you were financially impacted by the COVID-19 crisis so that if your landlord ever tries to evict you later on, you can present that proof in court. If at that time you prove that you couldn’t pay rent because of COVID-19, you will win the eviction lawsuit. You will still owe that rent in the future, but you can’t be evicted for failing to pay it, even after the emergency period ends.

Why Doesn’t the Ordinance Stop a Landlord from Filing an Eviction Lawsuit?

Under state law, if your landlord files an eviction lawsuit against you, even if the lawsuit is not for a legally valid reason, you still have to respond in order to protect your rights. Unfortunately, no individual city can pass a law that says otherwise. (The governor can do that, but he hasn’t.)

How Long Does the Eviction Moratorium Last?

The blanket ban on almost all evictions lasts as long as Oakland’s State of Emergency. It is retroactive to March 9 and currently ends on April 8. It has to be renewed by City Council every 30 days. We expect it to be renewed.

The future protection for tenants related to nonpayment of rent does not expire. If you cannot pay rent accrued during the State of Emergency and it was because of COVID-19, your landlord cannot ever lawfully evict you for not paying. You will still owe that money, but you can’t be displaced from your home because of it.

What Types of Evictions Does the Moratorium Cover?

The blanket moratorium applies if you are being evicted for any of these reasons:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Breach of lease (noncompliance with the terms of the lease)
  • Refusing to sign a new lease with materially similar terms
  • Causing substantial damage to the premises
  • Disturbing quiet enjoyment
  • Denying the landlord access to the unit if required by law
  • Owner move-in
  • Eviction for substantial repairs

The only two exceptions to the blanket moratorium are

1) If you are being evicted under the Ellis Act (removing the whole property from the rental market for 10 years) OR

2) The eviction is because the tenant is an imminent health or safety risk to other occupants.

There are also extra protections for nonpayment evictions in the future.

I Can’t Pay Rent Right Now – How Does the Moratorium Work for Me?

The moratorium protects you in two ways. First, your landlord can’t legally give you an eviction notice right now for almost any reason – including failure to pay rent. And second, even after the State of Emergency ends, your landlord could try to evict you for not paying the rent accrued during the emergency period, but if you can show that you couldn’t pay because of the COVID-19 crisis, you can win that lawsuit.

Your landlord can sue for the rent in other forums– for example, in small claims court. However, you cannot lose your housing.

Whether or not you pay rent right now is a personal matter that depends on what choices and resources you and your family have available to you. You may want to ask your landlord if you can pay a reduced amount of rent during the crisis if you still have some income.

What Kind of Proof Do I Need to Show That I Can’t Pay Rent Because of COVID-19?

The law suggests some types of proof, but it doesn’t limit you to those options. You could use pay stubs, a letter from your current or former employer, a letter from your child’s school, or medical records. If none of those are an option for you, you could have a friend or coworker testify in court.

What Does the Law Do About Rent Increases?

The law limits rent increases for rent-controlled tenants. If your tenancy is covered by Oakland’s rent control ordinance, then during the emergency period your landlord cannot give you a rent increase of more than Oakland’s yearly CPI increase. Currently, that amount is 3.5%. The only exception is if your landlord petitions the Oakland Rent Board for a “fair return”.

Ordinarily there are ways a landlord might be able to increase your rent above that amount – like banking prior increases or capital improvements. This moratorium disallows those types of increases.

How Can We Limit Rent Increases For Everyone?

Repeal the Costa-Hawkins Rental Housing Act

Did Governor Newsom Pass an Eviction Moratorium in California?

Governor Newsom did not issue an eviction moratorium. On March 27, he issued an order on evictions that we think is deeply unhelpful to tenants. His order changed some procedural court guidelines in some eviction cases if tenants take affirmative steps now and provide information to their landlords. The order does not extend the time for any tenant to pay rent or make them more likely to win an eviction case. We think the order is functionally useless, and it is certainly not a moratorium.​

Which City Officials Supported the Oakland Evictions Moratorium?

The Oakland Moratorium was originally sponsored by Councilmembers Nikki Fortunato Bas and Dan Kalb and co-sponsored by Oakland City Attorney Barbara Parker. It passed Council by a unanimous vote.

Who Can I Contact in Oakland for Help If My Landlord Is Still Trying to Evict Me?

Legal Help:
Centro Legal de la Raza – (510) 437-1554
East Bay Community Law Center – (510) 548-4040, ext. 629
Eviction Defense Center – (510) 452-4541
Bay Area Legal Aid – (510) 250-5257
Legal Assistance for Seniors – (510) 832-3040
Asian Pacific Islander Legal Outreach – (510) 251-2846

Non-legal Tenant Support:
Causa Justa Just Cause – Tenant Hotline: (510) TENANTS (836-2687) (general advice for tenants in English & Spanish); (510) 763-5877 (main number, tenant organizing)
Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment – (510) 269-4692 (tenant organizing)
Oakland Tenants Union – (510) 704-5276 (tenant counseling)

So much is at stake this election. Our livelihood, health, and the ability to determine our future are on the line.

Click here to view this year’s 2020 California AAPI Voter Guide.

Hide×